Top Stories Of 2022

By Jeremy McDonald

jeremymcdonald73@gmail.com

A lot of things happened over the past year.  History made. Heartfelt stories.  Fun ending in an All-Star Game in Baker City to Playoff Droughts ending.  So much  happened to mentioned over the course of this past year.  But here’s a few stories I’ve been at over this past year to encompass a crazy year that was 2022.  Here’s to 2023.

McKay Boys Soccer finished undefeated and won their first-ever soccer title in their first season in 5A this past Fall.McKay Finishes Perfect. Wins First-Ever Title https://jmcdonaldmedia.com/2022/11/12/mckay-finishes-perfect-wins-first-ever-title/

For the first-time in ten years, Cascade won the 4A Softball Title while doing it for one of their coaches.  Playing For Hannah: Cascade Wins Title 3-2 https://jmcdonaldmedia.com/2022/06/07/playing-for-hannah-cascade-wins-title-3-2/

With a sea of Blue Shirts with Michael Galen’s face on it, the Western Christian Boys Basketball team won the 2A Basketball State Title.  Gimme A P! Pios Take 2A State Title https://jmcdonaldmedia.com/2022/03/05/gimme-a-p-pios-take-2a-state-title/

West Salem’s Reese Lawson became the first Titan Girls Wrestler to place at Girls Wrestling State back in February.  West Salem’s Makes History https://jmcdonaldmedia.com/2022/03/02/west-salems-lawson-makes-history1/

The Sheridan Boys and Girls Basketball programs came together towards the of the basketball season to honor a classmate who passed away.  Honoring Keegan https://jmcdonaldmedia.com/2022/02/21/honoring-keegan/

Kennedy’s Andrew Cuff had a stellar 2A/1A State Championship performance in the rain as the Trojans defeated Umpqua Valley Christian for the State Title. Cuff Lead Trojans In State Championship Win https://jmcdonaldmedia.com/2022/06/03/cuff-lead-trojans-in-state-championship-win/

Woodburn’s Santi Roque-Manzo (right) lines up for the game-winning kick at the East-West Shriners Game in Baker City on August 6 (Picture By Jeremy McDonald)

Sprague Volleyball edged McNary for the CVC Title as the Olympians reached the Elite 8 in 2022.  Sprague Volleyball Takes Central Valley Conference Title https://jmcdonaldmedia.com/2022/10/13/sprague-volleyball-takes-central-valley-conference-title/

Woodburn’s Santi Roque-Manzo came in clutch in Baker City to lift the West team over East in the Shriners West-East All-Star Game West’s Defense Sets Up Rogue-Manzo’s OT Game-Winner https://jmcdonaldmedia.com/2022/08/06/wests-defense-sets-up-roque-manzos-ot-game-winner/

Stayton’s Cody Leming pitched a gem as the American Legion Triple-A Canyon Crushers made it to the postseason for the first-time since 2013.  Crushers Advance To Legion State For First-Time Since 2013 https://jmcdonaldmedia.com/2022/07/22/crushers-advance-to-legion-state-for-first-time-since-2013/

One Comment Add yours

  1. Cougmom says:

    How about Cascade Volleyball making history and bringing home the state title for the first time ever???

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s