Axmaker Earns OWC Player of the Year, OWC Boys Basketball List

By Jeremy McDonald

Stayton’s Jacob Axmaker has added Oregon West Conference Player of the Year honors as the Eagles reached the 4A State Quarterfinals this upcoming weekend. A great honor Axmaker points, as the senior guard has helped lead Stayton to a 18-5 record currently going into their first game at North Bend High School against rival Cascade.

“It was a pretty great feeling knowing all the hard work has paid off and not gone unrecognized. I couldn’t have gotten to the point I’m at without the help of all my coaches, trainers, and teammates that have been with me through my whole high school career, Now onto the next step which is winning state,” Axmaker said.

Philomath’s Head Coach Brian Ecker won Coach of the Year as the Warriors play Seaside in the Round of Eight Thursday afternoon.

Here’s the Complete List:

First Team:

Jacob Axmaker-Stayton

Ty May- Philomath

Kellen Sande-Cascade

Ty Best- Cascade

Dom Ball-Cascade

Col Beardsley- Philomath

Ty Best was one of three Cascade Cougars to earn First Team All-OWC this season (Picture By Jeremy McDonald)

Second Team

Kadin Bruns-Newport

Gabe Wiggington-Stayton

Tomas Veliz-Woodburn

Max Palanuk-Sisters

Garrett Cailsen-Stayton

Tomas Veliz (2) helped Woodburn 16-10 record as the senior was named to the second team All-OWC in 2022 (Picture By Jeremy McDonald)

Honorable Mention

Spencer Karsenboom-Woodburn

Spencer Horne- Cascade

Cruz Veliz-Woodburn

Tony Carrasquillo-Woodburn

Russ Hudley-Sweet Home

Sam Horne-Cascade

Quintin Travis- Newport

Gavin Berning-Stayton

Jonathan Fritz- Newport

Richard Hoffman- Sisters

Nathan Aker- Sweet Home

Isaac Schnepp- Cascade

Cole Matthews-Philomath


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s